Concealed Carry

This morning I woke up 30 mins early and was ready for the day! I woke up before my alarm went off so I must be getting some energy from the foods I eat or my workouts. But, last night I had a scary encounter that made me decide to get my concealed carry.

I took my dogs on a walk to the dam which is down the road from my house, about a 1 mile roundtrip. I have a 5 year old mastiff/boxer(Delilah) and a 6 month German Shepherd (Mac). Walking there was fine besides trying to break Mac from pulling on the leash! :0 When we got to the dam I decided to stay up on top where is was grassy because it is a bit of a hike to get down to the water. I Delilah run free but can’t quite trust Mac yet to come back to me so he stayed on the leash. After about 5 minutes of being there a man driving a van parked in the pull off area. I didn’t think much about it because it’s not unusual for cars to be parked there to watch the water flow over the dam. Then he rolled his window down…

I thought it was strange so I decided to walk down to the water with the dogs and maybe he would leave. Well this might have been THE DUMBEST thing I have ever done. From down by the water no one can see me from the road, a few friends knew I was going on a walk but didn’t know when or where I was was planning on going. Delilah was free to roam until I heard the car door shut. I called her over and kept her close to me. This guy ended up following me down to the water and tried starting up a conversation. Asked if the dogs were friendly, if I was from around the area, and then proceeded to pet my dogs. I put on an award smile and said we had to go. I hiked up the hill as fast as I could while continuously checking over my shoulder to make sure the man wasn’t following me. I continued to check over my shoulder the entire way home. Every car that slowed down to pass me made have terrifying ideas run through my head.

Well, I made it home- no issues and I locked the door as soon as I made it inside. I’m sure I would have been fine but with everything that you hear in the news and how horrible people can be I was seriously scared to death. I wanted to get my CCW last summer but the dates that they havd for classes didn’t work for me. Don’t worry, last night I contacted a local guy that holds the classes and I signed up for the first one of the year!

 

2 thoughts on “Concealed Carry

  1. Scary story!

    This is why I gave my wife a pocket pistol for Xmas last year, and we both got our Concealed Pistol Licenses (CPL here in Washington state) last month.

    We’ve also got two large dogs. A Mastiff/Black Lab mix named Boris, and a Bernese Mtn. Dog named Beorn. Both are in the 120lb range, very lovable and well behaved.

    A couple years ago we were traveling through Arizona and stopped to gas up. The Missus took the dogs to a nearby vacant lot to do their thing. She didn’t see the group of vagrants sitting nearby under a tree. One of them starts to wander over to her. Beorn sees him and lets out a warning bark, which in Beorn-Speak is “I see you, and I’m a little suspicious”. The guy U-turned immediately, and went back to his group. Lesson: when alone with the dogs, never let strangers know they’re lovable fuzzballs.

    Oh. And carry a gun, just in case.

    My advice (if you care for it): When you get your permit, take a gun class, and train often.

    Good luck!

    Like

    1. Thank you for the advice! I made so many mistakes when looking back on the situation. I am glad your wife is ok! It just seems like you can’t trust anyone these days which is so sad. I hope that my German Shepherd pup will turn protective soon because right now he is a whiny baby 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

